Sherwood family buys back Daniel's 100 stores from PE
Palladium Equity Partners held the credit jeweller for twelve years and grew it from 73 shops. The buyer alongside the family is AJS Creations, a lab-grown e-tail group on $350 million.
By The Retail Desk
What changed
The family owns it again. David Sherwood and relatives bought Daniel's Jewelers back from Palladium Equity Partners last month, partnering with AJS Creations. Terms were not disclosed for the 100-store chain.
What it means
- If you weigh a PE exit: The flip to a second fund is the default. This is the counter-example.
- If you sell lab-grown online: A 100-store credit chain is distribution AJS did not have.
- What this is not: A disclosed price, or a change of operator.
Key figures
| Daniel's stores, seven states73 when Palladium bought in | 100 |
|---|---|
| Combined AJS revenue, group figureShah's own figure, after five years | $350m |
| Years Palladium held itTwelveholding period, not performance | |
| Further stores Shah sees room foronce the chain is stabilised | 80–100 |
Source: Announced in a JCK interview published 9 October 2026; the transfer itself closed in September 2026. Terms were not disclosed by either party.
PE grew it, then left
Twelve years of PE. Palladium owned Daniel's for a dozen years and took it from 73 stores to 100. Sherwood says the family would not have carried that risk alone.
Nothing else moves. He expects no change to day-to-day operations. Management stays, the Culver City base stays and the credit-jeweller positioning stays.
One quote, one reason. Sherwood's stated reason is the holding period, not performance. He puts it this way: “Twelve years is too long in the tooth for any PE group.”
| Daniel's Jewelers | AJS Creations | |
|---|---|---|
| Stores | 100, seven states | Three lab-grown e-tailers, no store base stated |
| Model | Credit jeweller, heavily Hispanic clientele | Online, lab-grown and moissanite |
| Revenue | Not disclosed | $350 million, combined, group figure |
| Age | Founded by Sherwood's grandfather | Five years in business |
| Recent moves | 73 to 100 stores under Palladium | Charles & Colvard in July, Jwlr.com in October |
Notes on this table
The two columns are not comparable and are printed side by side for that reason. Daniel's publishes a store count and no revenue; AJS publishes a group revenue figure and no store count. The $350 million is Shah's own characterisation of the whole AJS portfolio, not of Daniel's, and no breakdown was given. The store growth figure is Carat Capital's subtraction from the two counts Sherwood gave: 100 less 73 is 27 stores added over a dozen years.
The buyer sells lab-grown
AJS runs three e-tailers. Tejas Shah's group owns Grown Brilliance, Von Diamonds and Clean Origin, all primarily selling lab-grown stones. It bought Charles & Colvard out of bankruptcy in July.
Three hundred fifty million. Shah puts combined AJS revenue at $350 million after five years in business. No breakdown by brand was given and Daniel's own revenue is not published.
A different customer. Shah's stated interest is that Daniel's customer and branding are unlike his own. He calls it well-priced and says growing to 100 stores is not easy.
Expansion is the open question
Eighty to a hundred. Shah sees room for another 80 to 100 stores once the chain is stabilised, which would roughly double it. Sherwood is more cautious and is not counting it out.
Texas and Florida. Daniel's trades in seven states and is well penetrated only in California. Sherwood names those two states as the open ground.
What to watch
- Through FY27Whether the store count moves off 100, and in which states. Both sides named expansion without committing to a number or a date.
- Next AJS filing or announcementWhether the $350 million group figure is restated once Charles & Colvard and Jwlr.com are inside it for a full period.
- Not announcedWhether Daniel's shelves start carrying AJS lab-grown product in volume. Shah says some; no share was given.
The story so far
Go deeper
What would change this call
A price. The whole transaction is characterised and not quantified, so a later filing or a disclosed multiple could change how this reads entirely. It would also change if AJS turns out to be buying distribution for its own lab-grown brands rather than a standalone credit chain, which both men denied in the same interview.
What a credit jeweller actually sells
A credit jeweller underwrites its own customer. The merchandise is the visible half of the business and the receivable is the other half, which means the chain carries consumer credit risk on its balance sheet and earns on the finance as well as the margin. That shapes everything about who can own it: a buyer is taking on a lending book with a concentrated customer base, in this case heavily Hispanic and concentrated in California, and the quality of that book is not something a store count discloses. It also explains why the model travels slowly. Opening in Texas or Florida is not only a lease and a staff; it is a new underwriting population, new state consumer-credit rules and a collections operation that has no local history. Sherwood's caution about expansion and Shah's enthusiasm for it are both consistent with that: the partner sees shelves, the operator sees a book. Neither is wrong, and the gap between them is the thing to watch over FY27.
Method
One source, read in full and treated as an interview rather than a release. The JCK piece of 9 October 2026 was fetched directly this morning (200, 111,500 bytes, saved to newsroom/sources/2026-10-10/desk/daniels.html) and its figures were greped in the raw bytes before anything was written: '100 stores' 2 hits, '73 stores' 1, '350 million' 1, 'Twelve years' 2, '80 to 100' 1, 'seven states' 1, 'Palladium Equity Partners' 5, 'Tejas Shah' 1, 'Grown Brilliance' 1, 'Clean Origin' 1, 'Culver City' 1, and the JSON-LD datePublished reads 2026-10-09. Figures were taken only from the article's own body paragraphs: the extraction stops at the 'SEE MORE' and 'Popular on JCK' recirculation blocks, which on this page carry four unrelated same-day stories including an 8.17-carat Christie's lot this paper has already covered separately. Nothing from those blocks is used here. Archive check, by entity and not by figure, run against website/content/articles.json: 'Daniel’s Jewelers' 0 hits, "Daniel's Jewelers" 0, 'Sherwood' 0, 'AJS Creations' 0, 'Palladium Equity' 0, 'Grown Brilliance' 0, 'Clean Origin' 0, 'Charles & Colvard' 0 — new subject, no prior period to advance from. The 27-store figure in the table note is Carat Capital's own subtraction and is labelled as such. No price is printed because none was disclosed; the paper asked no party and quotes none beyond the published interview.