Diamonds

Amit Shah asks India to hold the whole lab-grown chain

Speaking in Mumbai on 13 September, the home minister named machines, production, jewellery, brands and showrooms. He put 2025 gems and jewellery exports at Rs 2.44 lakh crore and the workforce at 75 lakh.

By The Diamond Desk

What changed

Shah named the whole chain. India's home minister asked the trade to hold every link of the lab-grown diamond business, from building the machines to opening showrooms abroad. He put India's 2025 exports at Rs 2.44 lakh crore.

What it means

  • If you make lab-grown in Surat: the minister's list runs past growing stones to machines and retail brands.
  • If you sell growers into India: domestic machine-building is now a stated federal aim, not a trade wish.
  • What this is not: a policy. No scheme, budget or date was announced with the appeal.

Key figures

World's polishingIndia's share, his figure90%
2025 exportsRs 2.44 lakh croregems and jewellery, his figure
Jobs claimeddirect and indirect75 lakh
His volume claimlab-grown against current volume50x
Links namedmachines, output, jewellery, brands, shops5

Source: Amit Shah at the 52nd India Gems and Jewellery Awards, Mumbai, 13 September 2026 · every figure below is the speaker's, not Carat Capital's audit

Five links, one owner

Five links in the list. The appeal names 5 links: machines, stones, jewellery, brands and showrooms abroad.

Machines come first. Shah asked the trade to build the growing machines in India rather than import them.

Showrooms come last. The list ends with Indian brands opening shops in cities outside India.

The links the minister namedAs listed in the address, Mumbai, 13 September 2026
LinkWhat India does nowSource of the claim
Growing machinesnot statedthe address
Growing the stonesnot statedthe address
Cutting and polishingmore than 90% of the world's cut and polished diamondsthe address
Making the jewellerynot statedthe address
Brands and showrooms abroadnot statedthe address

Source. ANI's report of the address, 13 September 2026.

The 90%. is the only link the speaker attached a figure to, and it covers all cut and polished diamonds, not lab-grown alone.

Not stated. means the address gave no figure for that link, and none has been supplied here.

Nothing here. is a government target or a published statistic.

The figures are the speaker's

Rs 2.44 lakh crore. Shah put India's 2025 gems and jewellery exports at that figure in the same address.

Seventy-five lakh jobs. He said about 75 lakh people take direct and indirect employment from the trade.

Ninety per cent polished. He said India processes more than 90% of the world's cut and polished diamonds.

Fifty times, by volume. He put lab-grown's potential at nearly 50 times the current diamond market by volume.

One state has a policy already

Maharashtra moved in 2025. The state's gems and jewellery policy of 2025 carries provisions for the lab-grown industry.

No federal scheme named. The address of 13 September announced no central scheme, outlay or date for the value chain it described.

What to watch

  • Next budgetWhether a central lab-grown scheme follows the appeal with an outlay.
  • Monthly GJEPCWhether lab-grown export figures move against the Rs 2.44 lakh crore total.
  • Any state policyWhether Gujarat publishes lab-grown provisions to match Maharashtra's.

The story so far

  1. India set a $100 billion export target for 2040, growing at 2.44%
  2. HRD Antwerp opened a Mumbai lab grading 2,000 diamonds a day
  3. IIT Madras built a prototype press as China sent $594m of kit

Go deeper

What would change this call

A central scheme with money attached. An appeal at an awards dinner and a funded policy are different objects, and only the second would change what a manufacturer does next quarter.

What a lab-grown value chain contains

A lab-grown diamond passes through a reactor, a cutting wheel, a setting bench and a shop window. The reactors themselves, whether chemical vapour deposition chambers or high-pressure presses, are capital equipment that has historically been bought from outside India. The minister's appeal treats the reactor as part of the chain rather than an input to it, which is what makes the list longer than the usual cutting-and-polishing account of India's position.

Method

The address was given at the 52nd India Gems and Jewellery Awards in Mumbai on Sunday 13 September 2026, with Shah as chief guest. Age is stated from the event and not from the write-up: the Bureau's slate dated this item 14 September, which is the day Rapaport published, and the address was two days before this edition, not one. The primary text was read through two independent reports of ANI's copy, dailyprabhat.com and diamondworld.net, both fetched directly; aninews.in itself returned 403 to this desk and no address was guessed in its place. Divergence between outside sources, disclosed: diamondworld.net, published 15 September 2026, carries the claim that the lab-grown market could expand to nearly 50 times the size of the current diamond market in volume, and Rapaport's report of 14 September carries the same figure without the word volume; the ANI copy read at dailyprabhat does not carry the figure at all and paraphrases the speaker as saying the market is likely to expand on a large scale. This article prints the figure as volume, attributed to the speaker, and marks it to the second source rather than the first. No exchange rate is asserted anywhere: the export figure is printed in rupees and is not converted. The 90%, the Rs 2.44 lakh crore and the 75 lakh are all the speaker's own claims made in the address, and Carat Capital has not audited any of them against GJEPC or customs data. Archive test, both periods named: a search of the archive for Amit Shah returns zero files, and the paper's nearest prior item, 20 August 2026, covers GJEPC's own $100 billion by 2040 export target rather than any ministerial address. New entity and new document, so NEW.

Sources3