Carat^Capital
Carat Capital · The trade paper of the jewelry world · Est. MMXXVI · Free to read
CC/09-11Friday 11 September 2026The Retail & Technology Desk · Brand platform
Brand platformRetail & Technology · CC/09-11

Kay cuts its assortment about 20% across 1,003 stores

Signet's largest banner is adding men's shops in about 200 locations and piloting open-sell Rocksbox cases. Store and packaging changes follow in 2027, under a campaign named Love All In.

PLATE IThe number
−20%
Assortment
about, over the past year
1,003Kay locations
200Men's shops
39.6%Of Signet's estate
Source Kay Jewelers · assortment and store figures as reported by WWD and JCK, 10 September 2026 · Signet totals from its Form 8-K of 9 September 2026, at 1 August 2026
What changed

A fifth of the range goes. Kay has reduced its assortment by about 20% over the past year, in every category, alongside a brand platform called Love All In. Custom pieces and men's jewellery take the space.

What it means · The Desk’s View

If you supply Kay: a fifth of the range has already gone, and custom and men's jewellery are where the space went.

If you compete with Kay locally: the store refit is a 2027 event, not a this-quarter one.

What this is not: a store-closing programme. Kay's 1,003 locations are unchanged in these reports.

The article3 sections · 136 words
Table I · Kay inside SignetKay figures at 10 September 2026 · Signet figures at 1 August 2026
MeasureKaySignet total
Locations1,0032,534
Of which outlets121not stated
Share of the chain39.6%100%
Average store size2,500 sq ftnot stated
Men's shops plannedabout 200not stated
Assortment changeabout −20%not stated
Source WWD and JCK, both 10 September 2026, both reporting Kay president Julie Yoakum; Signet's total store count is from Exhibit 99.1 to its Form 8-K of 9 September 2026. Two dates Kay's figures are at 10 September and Signet's at 1 August; the two are not the same as-of. The 39.6% share is Carat Capital's arithmetic, 1,003 of 2,534, and is a share of the estate, not a change in it.CC/2026/060

IA fifth of the range goes

Too much product. Kay has reduced its assortment by about 20% over the past year, in every category. Julie Yoakum, the brand's president, said: “We had too much product, it was confusing.”

Custom and men's. Custom pieces and men's jewellery take the shelf space back. Men's shops of about 25 linear feet are going into roughly 200 stores.

IIKay is 39.6% of Signet

Four in ten stores. Kay counts 1,003 locations against the 2,534 Signet had open at 1 August, or 39.6% of the chain.

The estate is shrinking. Signet closed 53 stores and opened 5 since year-end, leaving selling space down 1.1%. The assortment cut lands on a smaller base.

IIIStores and packaging wait for 2027

Website first. The campaign is live on the website, in advertising and on social from this week. Store redesign and packaging follow in 2027.

Open sell, on trial. Kay is piloting open-sell display for Rocksbox pieces, which Signet bought in 2021. Rings, earrings and necklaces come out from under glass.

The depthMethod, sources, corrections · open what you need
01What would change this call+

Signet reporting Kay same store sales down next quarter. A 20% narrower range that loses sales is a mis-edit rather than a simplification, and the reading above would be wrong.

02What an assortment cut does+

A jeweller's assortment is the count of distinct items a store carries. Cutting it frees display space and working capital and makes each remaining line turn faster, at the risk of losing the sale a dropped item would have made. The test is not the cut itself but same store sales in the season after it.

03Method · the desk’s arithmetic+

Two independent reports were read directly, WWD and JCK, both published 10 September 2026 and both sourced to Kay president Julie Yoakum. Both carry the same figure, about a 20% reduction in assortment. WWD supplies the store detail used here: 1,003 Kay locations, of which 882 stores and 121 outlets, an average store of 2,500 square feet, men's shops of about 25 linear feet going into roughly 200 locations, and the Rocksbox open-sell pilot. A company announcement also went out over Business Wire at 13:00 GMT on 10 September; it is named here for completeness, and the figures above rest on the two trade reports actually read. Signet's total of 2,534 stores, the 53 closures and 5 openings and the 1.1% fall in selling space are from Exhibit 99.1 to its Form 8-K of 9 September 2026, at 1 August 2026, and were reported here on 9 September. The 39.6% is Carat Capital's arithmetic, 1,003 of 2,534; it is a share of Signet's estate and not a fall in it, and the two counts carry different as-of dates, which is stated on the table rather than smoothed over. The single quotation runs to eight words. Archive test, both periods named: the archive's only prior Kay mention is the 12 August piece on Signet handing Zales and Banter to a Mattel executive, a different banner and a different subject; the 9 September piece covers the 13 weeks ended 1 August 2026, a results period. This item covers a brand and assortment decision announced 10 September 2026. Same parent, different subject and period, so NEW.

04Sources3 documents
The Morning Brief · free

The trade, filed before the New York open.

Prices, tenders and the one story that moved the industry overnight. Ninety seconds.

Subscribe free →
Clarity, daily.